World of Material Handling – A step closer to the future

Experts agree. Our future is digital. This is equally valid for our private and working lives. In the Industry 4.0 concept, everything is connected to everything else – at least in virtual terms. People, machines and products communicate with each other. Autonomous systems handle pre-defined tasks without the intervention of human beings. How will this development change the face of intralogistics? What benefits and risks are involved?

 

At present, this reshaped and fully connected industry model remains a vision. Nevertheless, a small step is all it needs to takes us from theory to reality. Although it is only 25 years since information scientist Tim Berners-Lee invented the World Wide Web, today, billions of people are online. As a consequence of increasing connectivity, the future will also see exponential growth of digital solutions in the industrial segment. The fourth industrial revolution, better known as Industry 4.0, has already begun.

The objectives of this degree of connectivity in the industrial segment are clearly defined. Processes in companies should be made more efficient, more effective and more flexible. Today, customers already expect that their special wishes are fulfilled with ever-increasing speed. This demands fundamental changes in production and logistics chains. In the smart factories of the future, machines, components and transport systems will communicate with one another. Classic intralogistics will and must evolve to a new level – smart intralogistics.

In the context of the World of Material Handling 2016, Linde’s aim was to bridge the divide between today’s existing technologies and future developments – and it was a great success. The event provided the visitors a unique forum: Experts and customers could experience new, innovative solutions all about Linde forklift trucks, experience them in hands-on tests and take part at individual guided tours. Concrete specific problems could be discussed.

The WoMH gave a look into the future of intralogistics. Referred to the four main topics – connectivity, energy systems, individualization and automation – especially the last one got a lot of attention from the visitors. This means, Linde remains on the customer requirements in terms of industry 4.0: For a future with automated and connected vehicles.

Experience, how the future of intralogistics can look like: Linde Material Handling has visualized its vision of this future. Commodity flows will be managed digitally, forklift trucks will work automated and connected. Trucks will be able to adapt to different operational conditions and will communicate with each another. By using intelligent energy networks Linde enables efficient logistics. Customers, manufacturers and contractors will work together seamlessly in a digital network.

WoMH Daily Report

Blog_ICON

From 9 until 25 May, our blogger Robert Basic reported about the highlights of the WoMH!

Read the daily report to discover what he explored!

more

Follow us on twitter and be constantly updated about the WoMH.

Industry 4.0 – the logistics of the future

The Themes of the World of Material Handling

Connectivity

Technologies must be fast, flexible and fully integratable. They must enable autonomous communication and exchange of data between machines and IT-systems to create holistic workflows.

Power Systems

Lithium-ion technology and fuel-cell systems from Linde are sustainable alternatives to conventionally fuelled vehicle motorisation concepts and simultaneously increase productivity.

Individualisation

Even today, increasing expectations on the part of customers demand shorter and shorter product cycles and more individualised products. This is made possible by state-of-the-art solutions at vehicle level and beyond.

Automation

Keeping material flows in motion by automation promises greater efficiency in both logistics and production – however, fully integrated, end-to-end systems are not always a viable option. An alternative here is offered by flexible technologies like those from Linde Robotics.

The World of Material Handling 2016 – a retrospective

visitors attended the World of Material Handling in 2016

days of workshops and live presentations at Fredenhagenhalle location

different nationalities came together about the logistics of the future

square meters of the Linde acitivity world "Linked Perspectives" could be expored

Do you need more information?

Write our press team and they will help you!

5 + 5 =

The partners of the World of Material Handling

About Linde Material Handling GmbH

Linde Material Handling GmbH, a company of the KION GROUP, ranks among the world’s foremost makers of forklift and warehouse trucks. With its brands Linde and Fenwick (France), the company is the market leader in Europe. In addition to its broad product portfolio, Linde offers efficient intralogistics solutions including fleet management, automation and driver assistance systems, and provides a comprehensive range of vehicle-related services. With production and assembly plants around the globe and a sales network with offices in over 100 countries, the company is represented in all important regions worldwide. In the fiscal year 2015, Linde Material Handling generated sales of over EUR 3.4 billion and employed approximately 14,500 people worldwide.

Share This

World of Material Handling – Der Zukunft ein Stück näher

Die Experten sind sich einig: Unsere Zukunft ist digital. Das gilt für unseren Alltag ebenso wie für die Arbeitswelt. In der Industrie 4.0 ist alles mit allem – zumindest virtuell – verbunden. Menschen, Maschinen und Produkte kommunizieren miteinander. Autonome Systeme erledigen vorher definierte Aufgaben ohne menschliches Zutun. Wie verändern diese Entwicklungen die Intralogistik? Welche Chancen und Risiken sind damit verbunden? Welche Entscheidungen müssen wir heute treffen, um in Zukunft erfolgreich zu sein?

 

Noch ist die komplett vernetzte Industrie eine Vision. Doch von der Theorie zur Praxis ist es nur ein kleiner Schritt. Es ist gerade mal 25 Jahre her, dass der Wissenschaftler Tim-Berners Lee das World Wide Web erfunden hat. Heute sind Milliarden von Menschen online. Durch die zunehmende Vernetzung werden sich digitale Lösungen auch in der Industrie künftig exponentiell verbreiten. Die vierte industrielle Revolution, bekannt unter dem Begriff Industrie 4.0, hat schon begonnen.

Die Ziele dieser Vernetzung in der Industrie sind klar benannt. Effizienter, effektiver und flexibler sollen die Prozesse für Unternehmen werden. Kunden erwarten heute, dass ihre individuellen Wünsche immer schneller erfüllt werden. Das verändert Produktions- und Logistikketten fundamental. In der intelligenten Fabrik der Zukunft kommunizieren Maschinen, Bauteile und Transportsysteme miteinander. Aus der klassischen Intralogistik wird die smarte Intralogistik von heute.

Mit der World of Material Handling 2016 wagte Linde Material Handling den Versuch die Brücke zwischen heute bereits verfügbaren Technologien und zukünftigen Entwicklungen zu schlagen – und es war ein voller Erfolg. Die Veranstaltung bot den Besuchern ein einzigartiges Forum: Fachleute und Kunden konnten neue, innovative Lösungen rund um Flurförderzeuge live erleben, eigenhändig testen sowie an individuellen Führungen teilnehmen. Konkrete Problemstellungen wurden diskutiert.

Die WoMH bot einen Blick in die Zukunft der Intralogistik. Von den vier Themenbereichen –Vernetzung, Energiesysteme, Individualisierung und Automatisierung – erhielt vor allem das letzte von den Besuchern viel Aufmerksamkeit. Das zeigt, Linde bleibt an den Kundenwünschen in Sachen Industrie 4.0 dran: Für eine Zukunft mit autonomen und digital gesteuerten Fahrzeugen.

Erleben Sie selbst, wie die Zukunft der Intralogistik aussehen kann: Linde Material Handling hat diese Vision visualisiert. Waren- und Materialströme werden digital gesteuert, Stapler automatisiert und vernetzt eingesetzt. Fahrzeuge passen sich flexibel den Einsatzbedingungen an und kommunizieren untereinander. Intelligente Energienetze ermöglichen eine rund um effiziente Logistik. Kunden, Hersteller und Lieferanten sind durch digitale Informationen eng vernetzt.

Blog_ICON

Vom 9. bis 25. Mai berichtete unser Blogger Robert Basic über die Themen der WoMH.

Lesen Sie im Tagesreport was er alles erlebt hat!

Zum WoMH Tagesreport
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter und seien Sie immer über aktuelle News zur WoMH informiert.

Industrie 4.0 – Logistik der Zukunft

Die Themen der World of Material Handling 2016

Vernetzung

Technologien müssen schnell, flexibel und integriert nutzbar sein. Sie ermöglichen, dass Maschinen und IT-Systeme eigenständig Daten austauschen und so einen ganzheitlichen Workflow erzeugen.

Energiesysteme

Die Lithium-Ionen-Technologie und Brennstoffzellen-Systeme sind nachhaltige Alternativen zu konventionell betriebenen Fahrzeugen und steigern gleichzeitig die Produktivität.

Individualisierung

Steigende Kundenerwartungen erfordern schon heute immer kürzere Produktzyklen und individuellere Produkte. Möglich machen das moderne Lösungen, die weit über das einzelne Fahrzeug hinausreichen.

Automatisierung

Materialströme automatisiert im Fluss zu halten verspricht mehr Effizienz für Logistik und Produktion – aber integrierte Komplettsysteme sind nicht immer eine Option. Flexible Technologien wie von Linde Robotics sind eine Alternative.

Besucher kamen 2016 zur World of Material Handling

Tage lang Workshops und Live-Präsentationen auf dem Gelände der Fredehagenhalle

Nationalitäten informierten sich unter einem Dach über die Logistik der Zukunft

qm groß war die Erlebniswelt "Linked Perspectives" von Linde

Benötigen Sie mehr Informationen?

Schreiben Sie dem Presseteam, das Ihnen gern weiterhilft.

7 + 10 =

Die Partner der World of Material Handling

Partnerlogo Hoppecke

Über die Linde Material Handling GmbH

Die Linde Material Handling GmbH, ein Unternehmen der KION GROUP AG, ist einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Gabelstaplern und Lagertechnikgeräten und Marktführer in Europa. Zudem bietet das Unternehmen sein Know-how aus der jahrzehntelangen Entwicklung und Fertigung von elektrischen Antriebssystemen auch externen Kunden für vielfältige Anwendungen an. Als international agierendes Unternehmen unterhält Linde Material Handling Produktions- und Montagewerke in allen wichtigen Regionen weltweit sowie ein globales Vertriebs- und Servicenetzwerk mit Vertretungen in über 100 Ländern. Im Geschäftsjahr 2014 erzielte Linde Material Handling mit rund 14.500 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von 3,4 Milliarden Euro.

Share This